Intelligent India

Govt appoints new disinvestment secy

Post By Editor Intelligent India · On December 29, 2015

New Delhi: The government on Monday shunted out Aradhana Johri as disinvestment secretary following the department's dismal record at initiating sell-offs, including strategic sale, and replaced her with Neeraj Kumar Gupta, an IAS officer of the 1982 batch.

It also assigned industrial policy and promotion secretary Amitabh Kant with the additional charge of NITI Aayog, the Centre's think-tank and link with the states, as Sindhushree Khullar's extended term is due to end on Thursday. Kant is himself due to retire in two months.

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by PM Narendra Modi also designated West Bengal cadre IAS officer Sanjay Mitra as the new road transport and highways secretary. Rashmi Verma, a Bihar cadre officer, has been appointed the new textiles secretary, while Johri will be the chairperson of the National Authority for Chemical Weapons Convention.

Sources said the government was especially worried about the poor disinvestment receipts and the over cautious approach adopted by the department, which is part of the finance ministry. Against the target of Rs 69,500 crore disinvestment, including through the revival of strategic sale, the government is staring at a massive shortfall, although it is confident that the fiscal deficit target would be met. Gupta has an uphill task during the remaining three months of the fiscal year.

Govt appoints new disinvestment secy

0 Comment

Releted Article

About Me

Bipin Sasi is a technology executive and a seasoned Journalist fighting fake news in India. He try to verify the facts with technology and present the truth behind any news circulating in Indian Media.