In the news

Showing posts with label Chief Election Commissioner. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Chief Election Commissioner. Show all posts


Two rather major developments took place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on January 21. One was the upholding of the Election Commission’s recommendation of disqualifying 20 AAP MLAs for holding ‘Office of Profit’ and the other was the appointment of Om Prakash Rawat as the new Chief Election Commissioner succeeding Achal Kumar Joti.

 Kovind also appointed former Union Finance Secretary Ashok Lavasa as an Election Commissioner.

Rawat will take the charge on Tuesday after Joti demits office on Monday.

A 1977-batch IAS officer from the Madhya Pradesh cadre who had been serving as Union Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises Secretary when he retired in 2013, Rawat was appointed as Election Commissioner in August 2015.

Lavasa will also take charge on Tuesday, joining Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, a 1980-batch IAS officer of the Rajasthan cadre and former Information and Broadcasting Secretary, who was appointed in September 2017.

All future elections to be held with paper trail EVMs: EC

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi on Saturday announced that all future elections, including that of Himachal Pradesh assembly, would be held with Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines. "India would be the first country to use them...VVPAT machines would boost the voters' confidence," he added. In paper trail machines, voters get a printed proof of the vote they cast.\

The Election Commission has issued letter of intent for purchase of 16.15 lakh Voter-Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines, following a clearance by the Union Cabinet on fund allocations.

The machines will be procured in 2017-18 and 2018-19 at an estimated cost of ₹3,173.47 crore from public sector undertakings BEL and ECIL.

“In its letter sent to CMDs of ECIL and BEL on Friday, the commission has communicated its intent for purchase 8,07,500 VVPATs from each of the PSUs by September 2018,” said an EC note.